The Foundation

Our mission: To provide children who have been victims of war and persecution with education with a focus on the arts.

Katharina N. Eitel and children in Gizeh

A great many children fall victim to conflicts and wars, for example in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and brutal civil wars in the Middle East, or experience ethnic persecution in Africa. Theirs are not happy, carefree childhoods as they ought to be.

There are millions of such children, many of whom die each day, whilst others are forced to flee, having to spend months or years in refugee camps, trying to survive, and sometimes dying, under atrocious conditions. The survivors are often injured, ill and traumatised. These children need to be cared for.

Painting, dancing, music-making, play acting and other activities in the field of fine arts are among the central creative aspects of every culture. Their therapeutic importance for the healing of traumatised minds is well known and attested.

Yet, most children in warzones and crisis areas have no opportunity to explore life through play and sensory perception – to paint a picture, to learn an instrument, to dance. Paper, pencils and musical instruments tend to be in short supply in places where shells are exploding and only the bare necessities of survival are available, and people to show the children how to use these things and to support, animate and encourage them are rarer still.

The Foundation wishes to help such children by providing them with opportunities to engage with music, dance, art and theatre, and by facilitating and providing financial support for their education, especially in the fine arts. Particularly talented children could then be taken on by other support programmes, initially at the national and later at the international level.

That was the wish of artist Katharina Natalie Eitel, who bequeathed her estate to Stiftung Hoffnung13: 13 had been her lucky number.

Katharina, who died in May 2016, had appointed her husband, Claus Schreiner, to the position of Foundation Chairmen. He is joined on the board by Ellen Reichard and Mareike Reinig. Stiftung Hoffnung13 will commence operations in the course of 2018.

Die Stiftung

Unsere Aufgabe: Kindern, die Opfer von Kriegen und Verfolgung wurden, Bildung mit Schwerpunkt in musischer Erziehung ermöglichen.

Katharina N. Eitel mit Kindern in Gizeh

Sehr viele Kinder werden Opfer von Konflikten und Kriegen, beispielsweise im palästinensisch-israelischen Konflikt, in brutalen Bürgerkriegen in Nahost oder durch ethnische Verfolgung in Afrika. Ihre Kindheit ist nicht fröhlich, nicht unbeschwert, nicht wie sie sein sollte.

Es gibt Millionen solcher Kinder, an jedem Tag sterben viele von ihnen, andere sind auf der Flucht, müssen über Monate und Jahre versuchen, unter schwierigsten Bedingungen in Massenlagern zu überleben oder kommen dabei ums Leben. Die Überlebenden sind häufig verletzt, krank und traumatisiert. Es sind Kinder, um die man sich kümmern muss.

Malen, Tanzen, Musizieren, Theaterspielen und andere musische Tätigkeiten gehören zu den zentralen kreativen Aspekten jeder Kultur. Ihre therapeutische Bedeutung für die Heilung traumatisierter Seelen ist bekannt und belegt.

Die meisten Kinder in Kriegs- und Krisengebieten haben aber keine Chance, das Leben spielerisch und sinnlich zu erkunden: ein Bild zu malen, ein Instrument zu erlernen, zu tanzen. Wo Geschosse einschlagen oder gerade das Nötigste zum Überleben zur Verfügung steht gibt es kaum Papier, Stifte oder Musikinstrumente, noch seltener jemanden, der Kindern ihre Nutzung beibringt, sie dabei begleitet, animiert und fördert.

Die Stiftung möchte solchen Kindern helfen, indem sie ihnen den Kontakt mit Musik, Tanz, Kunst und Theater ermöglicht, sowie ihre Bildung und insbesondere die musische Ausbildung fördert und mitfinanziert. Besonders begabte Kinder können zuerst in nationale, dann internationale Förderprogramme übernommen werden.

Das war der Wunsch der Künstlerin Katharina Natalie Eitel, die die Stiftung „Hoffnung13“ zu ihrer Erbin bestimmte. Die 13 war ihre Glückszahl.

Zum Stiftungsvorsitzenden hat Katharina N. Eitel, die im Mai 2016 starb, ihren Ehemann Claus Schreiner bestimmt. Ihm sitzen Ellen Reichard und Mareike Reinig im Vorstand zur Seite. Die Stiftung Hoffnung13 wird im Jahr 2018 die Arbeit aufnehmen.